The Woman in the Photograph

The Woman in the Photograph (Taschenbuch)

Taschenbuch
Für Bewertung bitte einloggen!

An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is... (weiter)

€ 11,50 *
Preis
inkl MwSt.

  • sofort lieferbar
  • portofreie Lieferung innerh. Deutschland
  • Geschenkverpackung möglich

Details
AutorIn Stephanie Butland
Seiten 384
EAN 9781785768965
Sprache englisch
erschienen bei Zaffre Publishing
Erscheinungsdatum 11.07.2019
Rezensionen
Autorenportrait
Gesamtmeinung:
Ø0 | Keine Meinungen

davon Rezensionen:
Ø 0 |  Keine Rezensionen
davon Bewertungen:
Ø 0 |  Keine Bewertungen

5 Sterne
4 Sterne
3 Sterne
2 Sterne
1 Stern

An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century. Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light. Praise for The Woman in the Photograph : ' Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist ' Katie Fforde 'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph , a compelling, original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships' Sarah Franklin 'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism. I ate the book up ' Shelley Harris ' Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality ' Carys Bray

Butland, Stephanie Stephanie Butland lives near the sea in the North East of England. She writes in a studio at the bottom of her garden. Researching her novels has turned her into an occasional performance poet and tango dancer.